How does the UI access global “config” data

I’m writing a plugin that has a global “config” component that contains IP, port, username, and password for a remote server. The user then sets an ID in the node which corresponds to data supplied by the server. The server can contain thousands of individual data items, so I wrote the plugin so the the user can basically query the server for the correct ID. For now, I’m hard coding the server IP, port, username, and password for proof of concept. How can I get that information from the global “config”?

I’m still learning Node Red. If I understand correctly, the global “config” is code that runs on the node server side, and the Ui code runs on the browser side, I am very familiar with Node application development so I know how exchange data between client and server, if I have to do it myself. But I assume there are Node Red specific methods.

Are you writing a plugin or a node? Nothing in your description suggests to me that you should be writing a plugin, but I may not understand...

Where is that code located? In a .js file running on Node.js or in a .html file running in the browser?

Maybe you can explain what your node(s) are intended to do in a bit more detail? Or point to some code? Or paste some fragments of code here?

My code is at:

YAMCS is a open source ground control system typically used to remotely control and monitor spacecraft. It has a web.based API. I am writing code (plugin, node, whatever it should be called) that interfaces to YAMCS via the web based API. I actually got it working without having to write any code, using a few of the existing nodes together. I’m writing code to make a specialized node specifically for YAMCS.