How to add a second ds18b20

Hi everyone, I'm new in the world nodered.
I'm a beginner, very beginner, I created a flow that reads the data of a ds18b20 saves them on influx and displayed with grafana.
I need help to add a second ds18b20, please indicate me a tutorial? thanks

1 Like

It’s useful if the title of you post describes the problem eg “how to add a second ds18b20”
which is far more likely to catch someone’s attention that knows the answer.

You can edit your post by using the pencil icon

If you are using "node-red-contrib-ds18b20-sensor" just connect the second sensor in parallel with the first. The node outputs an array with the measurements of each sensor. Each sensor has it's own id. If you attach a debug node set to show the complete message you will see that both sensors are being read. You do not need a pullup resistor on the second sensor!

2 Likes

Sorry i edit post.

1 Like

And you may need to fiddle with the value of the existing pullup sensor depending on how long your cable run is.

Also prior to connecting the 2nd sensor i would suggest you get the serial number of the 1st sensor so you know which is which and identify it with some white out or other distinguishing feature.

Also running them in parasitic power mode can be problematic, so i would recommend against doing that unless you have a large issue with running cables (or available pairs)

Craig

1 Like

Thank a lots.

Thanks a lots.

you can also use node-red-contrib-ds18b20 which allows you to pick the ds18b20 sensor (by id) you want. This way you could have different nodes to read at different times.

Many thanks

I am having a problem with 2 ds18b20's and a DHT11. they were working fine and then one of the ds18 started giving weird readings high or low by 300 degrees then it would settle back down and be fine for hours. Now none of them are working. I had them all connected to the same wire heading back to the Pi (pic 1). I have tried several different things -