How to autmoatically increase a percentage value using start and stop triggers

Hi there,

I am looking for a way to do the following:
Input node is numeric, delivers either a "1" for begin or a "0" for stop (like pressing a button triggers the "1", while releasing it sends the "0").

Output node expects a number as well, which is between 0 and 100 (which is the absolute brightness of a bulb between 0 and 100%).

Now, when pressing the button and holding it down, I am looking for a way (probably some lines of code, as I am no developer) to increase the brightness automatically, while holding the button. Something like

while inc_dec==1
brightness = brightness + 1
return msg.payload.brightness
return to start

(ok, you have surely noticed by now that I have really no idea, how to code that :slight_smile: )

Would be happy to get some ideas from you skilled guys here...

Thanks
Frank

When you say button do you mean a physical button, a button (inject?) in Node-RED or a button on a webpage (dashboard)?

If you mean a button in the Node-RED interface unfortunately it isn’t possible as the interface isn’t supposed to be a dashboard. which is why there is the node-red-dashboard project

Sorry, I have been unclear here:

The button would be a KNX sensor (wall rocker) that would be pressed physically. This then would trigger a message (so called GA on KNX) which then would be read by a KNX node on NodeRed and used as the input to the respective function node. So no Dashboard involved here.

Background is, that I would like to control the dimming of a Hue Bulb using a KNX Rocker as Dimmer. The KNX rocker sends a start / stop dimming (the 1/0 I mentioned above) while the Hue Bulb expects an absolute percentage for the brightness.

Make sense?

so start by linking up the Knx rocker in Node-RED to a debug node and see what kind of output it gives you.

Should the full solution contain solutions for both direction of dimming? Or is there two separated buttons for this?