How to decide between template and ui-template nodes

Hello!

I'm fairly new to Node-RED and I need to send an email with basic HTML in a flow. However, it does have tables and some logic to hide a few elements if needed.

As I'd never used the mustache syntax, when I read that it was "logic-less" I assumed there would be no way to create loops for the table elements, or hide elements when needed.

So I looked into ui-template and the angular support seemed nice because the people that'll work on this flow later are already familiar with it. However, it seems tied to serving pages to a client which I don't need in this particular case, and also I couldn't find out how to get the final static HTML to output (I know it can send messages, I just don't know how to get the final HTML to be sent).

As I was in a hurry, I ended up creating a little monstrosity... I used the template node and made the loop with the flow itself.

Later on I learned that mustache can do loops and conditional statements and that I should've RTFM a bit more. So now I can kill the monstrosity and have a much cleaner flow. However, I'm still not sure about the best way to go and would like some advice from more experienced Node-RED users!

One advantage of using ui-template is that angular is known by other people that may work in the flow in the future. Another is that I would probably use it in any rendered HTML then and would've only one syntax instead of two. The problem is, I don't know how to use it to output the rendered HTML. The disadvantage would be to have to serve a webpage for it, but I could create a workaround for this to not be available outside.

The advantage of using the default template node is that it's a tool that actually fits this specific job nicely.

I'm leaning towards keeping the default template node.

Thanks in advance for any input! :slight_smile:

Hi @cadu