How to form a new number with two bytes?

Hello everyone. I am facing the following problem:

In MQTT, i'm suscribe to a topic and i'm constantly receiving a frame consisting in three bytes like so: (SoF) ( byte1) (byte2).
Where (SoF) represents the start of the frame ( it's just a char) and (byte1),(byte2) the most significant and less significant bits of a uint16.

My question is, how can I "sense" when a frame is comming and then concatenate the byte1 and the byte2 in a single unsigned int variable?

In C it's quite easy to do it, but since this is my first time programming in .js I have no clue of where to start.

Any help is more than wellcome.

Try feeding your payload to a function node then shift byte1 right by 8 then add together. Much as you would in C.

Not sure what you mean by that bit. Each time there is a new value for the subscribed topic in mqtt the MQTT In node will pass on a message, which you can feed into a function node to do your manipulation.
If you need further help then feed the output of the mqtt node into a debug node and paste what you get here so we can see exactly what the format of the data is.

Thanks for the reply.
That's exactly what i want to do, but don't know how to do it in javascript.

Can you possible make an example about it?
I imagine that it has to be something like:

var number |= (byte1 << 8);
number |= (byte2);

Thanks again

That Is what i already achieved

That is what i already achieved. Know what i need to do Is to program the funtion that "understand" that when a (SoF) is coming the next two bytes that comes are the bits of a 16 bits variable.

I don't have a clue of how to shift those bits into a new variable in .js ( and particulary with the payload).

Any code as example about it is more than welcome