How to make a diagnostic system on hardware using node-red

So I am a physics student on a 2 month internship with a small company working as a solo research and development team. The company makes washer disinfectors which clean toiletry utensils for places like hospitals and care homes. They gave a a very broad design brief to incorporate more technology into their machines which are mainly controller by fixed circuit-boards and relays and stuff (I don't really know circuitry well). So I was told they were looking into using a raspberry pi (model 3 b) to control their whole washing cycle so I have been learning linux, node-red, javascript to help me use it ( I previously only knew python).

I have made the node red flow and it talks to a relay module that I have purchased and basically at different points in the cycle it will turn the relays on and off to control hardware like pumps, steam generators and door mechanisms.

So I would like to gather ideas about how i could set up a flow which tests each of the components and what hardware I would need to do it. Because obviously I cant get any data back from the components back up the relays, I assume I would need to make like ammeters and test them that way?

Anyway, I'm not so sure where to start so I thought no harm in asking here. Sorry for the long essay I thought the more detail you had the easier it would be to get answers.

Regards
Zoomer

Hi
Interesting project ! There is some detail in your question and it looks like you have made some progress, but there are very many different ideas and possible solutions. I think that the control functions (relay operation, timings and core operation) is ideal for Node Red, the other parts of you question about hardware etc may not be suitable for this forum (but there may be many people here who could help).
Ideas and Suggestions