How to navigate multiple webpages in uibuilder

Hi,

I am new to Uibuilder.

What is the function I should use to navigate the multiple webpages in the same project file?

Best Regards,

Hi, with uibuilder, you can either work with real multiple web pages (in separate html files) or you can create an SPA (Single Page App) which is more like Dashboard and is what you get with something like Vue Router.

So that is the first thing you need to think about. A lot of people go for the SPA route as it often feels more natural from an application development perspective. But, it does make your webpage bigger which can sometimes be an issue on some mobile devices.

With a multi-page app, the disadvantage is that each page has to initialise on load which means creating a new link with Node-RED and loading the required libraries and CSS. But each page could be somewhat smaller in size.

So if you value the experience of rapidly switching visuals, an SPA is probably the way to go. If your users are likely to stay on one of the pages for an extended period, a multi-page approach might be better.

1 Like

In my application, multiple web pages option is the right choice bases on your explanation.

May I know the function to be used to move from one page to another?

This is standard HTML and JavaScript. There is nothing specific to uibuilder. One of uibuilder's strengths is that it lets you use standard web development.

To allow users to manually move to a new page just needs a URL link (or a button acting as a link).

To automate moving between pages from a script:

// Simulate a mouse click:
window.location.href = "http://www.w3schools.com"

// Simulate an HTTP redirect:
window.location.replace("http://www.w3schools.com")
1 Like

Hi, it works fine, but there is an issue that Uibuilder is getting disconnected. The connected client is becoming zero, once it navigates to the second page.

How can I fix this issue?

Also, can I add react SPAs in uibuilder?

Thank you,