How to reduce 5000 lines of code to just a few using a variable?

Dear reader,

I'm a intern at a company that distrubits camera. Together with my internship supervisor we are making software for Hikvision camera's using Node-Red.
We got our program working, however we have a function that consists of more than 5000 lines of code. We're sure this can be reduced to a few lines of code. I know we should make some values variable but we cannot find out how to make this working.
So I hope someone on this forum is able to help us? :sweat_smile:
Here are the flows and code:
flows (5).json (981.2 KB)
I think it should look something like this:

msg.headers = {};
msg.headers['content-type'] = 'application/xml';

if (msg.payload.length == 99)
{
    msg.payload = '<?xml version="1.0"?><LPListAuditSearchResult xmlns="http://www.std-cgi.org/ver20/XMLSchema" version="2.0"><LicensePlateInfoList><LicensePlateInfo><id>1<id><LicensePlate>'+msg.payload[0].Kenteken+'</LicensePlate><type>'+msg.payload[0].Type+'</type><effectiveTime>'+msg.payload[0].Geldig+'</effectiveTime></LicensePlateInfo>

Sincerly,

Gino

First off, what is the function suppose to do? i.e. explain what output you need based on the msg.payload.length.

As suggested, you need a specification. Write a detailed specification of what goes into the function and what should come out. Once you have a spec then a solution can be found.

Hi, forgive me for saying so but - WOW.

↑ that is not how you deal with variable sized data.

First and easy fix is to loop through the array to build your XML - but this is a botch job & not recommended.

The better solution is to work with native JS objects & build / transform the SQLite data into the correct shape Js object then pass it through an XML node to convert the JS object into XML.

If you can provide 2 things...