How to send a simple string to a serial node

I'm quite new to Node-RED, and I might be missing a significant feature. I have a straightforward setup where I need to send a string to a serial device.

To provide some context, the device in question is a Mettler Toledo scale, which is set to have continuous output. I need to change this setting using a SICS command (this detail might not be relevant to my main question) every time the scale start (this is because every time this scale is shut down, it resets its parameters).

The string I need to send to the scale is a simple "S\r\n" (S and LFCR). I've successfully done this using PowerShell or the command prompt.

In Node-RED, I tried configuring an "Serial Out" Node and an "Inject" Node to send a string or a JSON (I tried "S\r\n" and S\r\n). However, despite not receiving any errors, the output of the scale does not change as expected.
b
a

Could someone please advise on how to properly send commands to the scale using Node-RED?
What I'm doing wrong?

that does look correct (as far as I can see) - the usual mistake is to set it to string mode and then try to send \r\n - which then sends all those characters - but you have set JSON mode so that should send the correct characters. Have you set the serial port to add extra characters to the output ?

Thanks for thw answer!

These are the settings of my serial node:

The settings are the same as those for the "serial IN" node, which correctly allows me to receive scale output (I can observe this in the debug). I am wondering if the presence of the "serial IN" node might be causing a problem. Could the two nodes (one IN and one OUT) potentially interfere with each other?

Maybe the inject node sends the message too early. Have you tried to manually send the message by pressing the button on the inject node?

No, that's the correct way of using it.

Try this: