How to Send a STRING/JSON to a .txt File on another PC

Hi, i'm a bit new to Node-RED and i was asked a question by a customer: Can I set up some way to store (Locally on their PC) a backup log of the JSON Strings that is sent to their DB in case something happens and i had a thought to send a copy of that String to a .txt file but i cannot seem to figure it out.
How it goes is PLC does its jobs, marks a product, Sends out JSON String to DB if it was Good or Bad etc.
Using a CtrlX PLC with Node-RED addon with an IXON Network Switch for remote connection

I use write file node along with a template node in parallel to mysql database update, in case mysql server is shutdown for any reason.

How did you use the Write Node? I routed mine like this: "192.168.120:9200\C:\Users\CustomerPC\Desktop\MarkingResults.txt"
Tried without the IP but i still cannot get it to Write into the .txt file

Is not a valid IPv4 address.

you are absolutely correct, missed the subnet number, my bad, will make the change and test it

1 Like

Don't feel bad...I make that kind of error WAY too often, hence my username. :roll_eyes:

Fair enough haha but i made the IP change, no difference text file still empty, The Inject node contains the same type of info as the PLC would send out:
insert results (art_brand ,serial_nr ,time_marking ,result_laser_marking ,mo_nr,charge ) values ('20239112-0500','Z24210001',GETDATE(),'Ok','000000000','Not Used')

Been thinking if i have to use some kind os Conversion Node to make the Text file happy?

Add a Debug node to the output of the TCP Request node. Configure it like this so you can see what you're sending to the file write node.

EDIT: It would also be helpful if you post an image of the file write node properties like I did for the debug node.

Yes sir, give me one sec to set up the debug Node, until then here is an image of the Write Properties

In the Filename, remove everything up to "C:..." to get a valid path/file.