How to send this HEX command to my device using Node-red

Hello all, I want to send hex commands to my device using Node red. I'm new to node red and JavaScript, what is the way to send this command in the proper way. I want to write it in a function. The device is connected via serial port and on rs232 interface. The things that I have tried:

var buf = Buffer.from([0xaa,0x3f,0x00,0x00,0xf0,0x11]).toString;
msg.payload = buf;
return msg;

2-

var buf = Buffer.from([0xaa,0x3f,0x00,0x00,0xf0,0x11]);
msg.payload = buf;
return msg;

3-

var buf = Buffer.from(['aa','3f','00','00','f0','11']);
msg.payload = buf;
return msg;

And some more ways, like without using a function. In most cases I'm getting no response. I'm pretty sure of the physical connections, since using a different software which is UART Assistant and over the same port with same settings, the device is responding to the same command that I send.
The timestamp node is connected to a function having the code mentioned in option 2, and then this function is connected to a 'serial in' node with these settings that are suitable to communicate with my device: the serial port is COM 1, the baud rate is 38400, data bits 8, parity none, stop bits 1. Then this node is connected to a debug node to check the output. Note that with the same settings I was able to communicate with the device via ASCII commands, now I'm obliged to control via HEX commands; I'm pretty sure that the connections are right.
Note that the output when I inject is an error: "TypeError: The List[1]" argument must be an instance of Buffer or Unit8Array. Received type is string (' ')"
Via the UART Assistant, I'm sending also over COM1 with the exact same settings, the HEX code in this format: aa3f0000f011 and it is working.

Welcome!

I don't know if this will help as I haven't used it (yet), but it does appear to do what you need. Checksum I think you will need to calculate yourself.

node-red-contrib-buffer-parser