How to tweak the sensitivity/delay of gauges

Hi there,

being a total newbie to node-red I wanted to test-drive hotNipis awesome gauges.
Thereby I discovered that even the standard dashboard gauges are super unresponsive to large input changes via the slider.
How can one make them fast acting like real VU meters e.g.?

no fancy analog needle simulation needed (at first) just some useful real time response like here:

Thanks in advance

P.S. my goal would be to simulate a double scale, single needle caisson gauge like this here:

Are you sure it is not the slider output that is unresponsive? Add a debug node to find out.

1 Like

it has nothing to do with the slider. you can hand it a value of 100 and watch yourself how slowly it's adjusting to the value. so one clearly has to tweak something in the source of the dashboard gauge.
and i have zero clue about node-red, let alone it's package management yet.
so every hint is highly welcome and appreciated!

It takes about 1 second to get from end to end on my system. Is that what you class as slow?

1 Like

yeah 1 sec is useless, thanks for having quantified it Colin. any idea where to tweak the code to make it work in an instant?

It will be under .node-red/node_modules/node-red-dashboard somewhere. Someone who knows the code may chip in.

1 Like

couldn't find a thing pointing to that in the code :frowning:

1 Like

Are you talking about those? First september give-away (let's create one gauge)

first of all let me thank you E1cid for having pointed me to the correct file.
but now i see that node-red becomes messy, that i had to dig all of a sudden into all these layers(angularjs' Dependency Injection Containers) and node-reds package management just for having one single attribute changed. (waveRiseTime) :frowning: