How to use different IPs with mqtt

Hi all
I am very new to node-red and have a simple question(to some). I have two Raspberry pi's that I want to monitor from my windows laptop, I have set up a flow but I cant seem to use the two different pi IP addresses. the all change to the same IP when I enter them
flows (1).json (22.2 KB)
Any help would be appreciated
Regards
Shaun

I can't look at your flow, as I am on my phone. Are you running one MQTT broker or two?

For future reference you should paste flows inline see this post for more details - How to share code or flow json

You should have one mqtt broker and it will have an IP address. This broker could be installed on eithor Pi or a seperate Pi (I have mine installed on a Pi Zero W). The IP address of the machine that has the broker is the one you will enter when configuring the mqtt nodes on both pi's.

There is a great series of tutorial posts you should read if you want to learn more about MQTT at MQTT Essentials - All Core Concepts explained

I think your understanding of MQTT maybe incorrect. As the name suggests, a broker sits in the middle of all parties. You really only need one broker and you point every device at the one single broker. The way to differentiate messages is through using different topics.

This diagram may help...

I think that diagram might be slightly out-of-date as the current (best practice) way of setting a 'topic' doesn't start with a forward slash (as it adds a extra level of hierachy that isn't needed).
mqtt_topic_slash

1 Like

Good point and absolutely correct - well spotted Dave.

I have two, each on its own pi

Ok so there is no other way to do it but to use something like test.mosquitto.org. that poses another problem in that if one pi goes down test.mosquitto.org does not show that the one is down. Or is there another way I can perhaps achieve my goal. As I said I am very new to node-red

Ahhh ok I'll give that a try

Just looked at your flow.