How to use the Time Range Switch

Hi,
I am pretty new to node-red. I am trying to use the time range switc. The documentation says:
Ican send a message like

msg.__config = {
startTime: '12:35',
endTime: 'dusk',
startOffset: 0,
endOffset: 0,
lat: 51.33411,
lon: -0.83716
}

But what exactly do I send in the payload. is it just the json body
{
}
with JSON selected as the message type
or do I need to send the entire
msg.__config = {
}
as a string?
Also, if I do not send this message, will the node still automatically work once I have configured its properties or does it require some sort of regular trigger?

Hi Vlad, welcome to the forum.

It is best, when asking about a specific node, to include the actual name of the package. I assume you mean node-red-contrib-time-range-switch?

I've not used that node but it wants the config data in msg.__config? So I would think that whatever is in the payload (and hopefully any other property) will be sent on to the rest of your flow, the node itself doesn't need anything else.

If you send a message to the input with only the __config object included, the node will consume the message and emit no output.
If you send a message to the input with the __config object included and/or a payload/topic, the node will firstly process the __config object, remove it from the message and allow the remainder of the message to be emitted as per the configured rules.

Thank you for your reply. Yes, it is the node-red-contrib-time-range-switch. I am still unclear about how it should be used. What exactly is that node expecting? I json object like
{
}
or
a strange that references a json object
msg.__config = {
}

I am unsure what msg.__config is referencing is .__config a shorthand for some property of nodes or messages
My inject node has this configuration. Is that correct?

No.

You can use an inject node like this: