Inporting data into InfluxDB database

Hi everyone. Im new to IOT and node-red and everything. Im currently working on my final thesis and one part of the thesis is monitoring the temperature and humidity in labs at university and storing that data in Influx.
I use M5Stickc Plus as a mqtt data publisher. The data comes to node-red like this:
"izba"=room where is the sensor located
"23.97192"= temperature
I then used split function to split that message into 2 separate messages. As far as i know, i need with change function change that data into field and tags. But i cant figure it out how to change that data and write it into database.
i know its probably really easy step, but i spent a lot of time on this and im lost

Welcome to the forum @danco

Do you have control over the data coming in? If you have it would be better if the data were a json string something like
{"izba": 23.7192}
or even better
{"room": "izba", "temperature": 23.7192}

Sticking with what you have for the moment though, you don't want to split it into two messages. Keep it in one message.

Have a look at the help text for the influx out node and see if you can work out how the message you send to it needs to be structured. I presume that you want a tag called "room" and a field called "temperature".

Have you watched the recommended playlist for newcomers? Node-RED Essentials. The videos are done by the developers of node-red. They're nice & short and to the point. You will understand a whole lot more in about 1 hour. A small investment for a lot of gain.

Pay particular attention to the section Working with Messages which will give you ideas on how to restructure the data.

1 Like

Thanks for your quick answer Colin!
I dont know if you are familiar with uiflow or M5Flow, but this is how looks my mqtt output.

I probably cant add "temperature" in front of measurement.
I watched few of the videos, but im going to watch them all now.

No I am not familiar with that.