Integer limit and extract from payload

Hi i am new to nodered and json programming,

i am trying to get the total numder of API call , i encounter i problem and error in my code:
1)

var total = msg.payload.data.count;

for (var i = 0; i< total; i++){
    data.push({"x":msg.payload.data.datastreams[1].datapoints[i].at, "y":msg.payload.data.datastreams[1].datapoints[i].value});
}

the above is error because total is still in Json?
how can i make use ff that ?

1. i have also try using switch node
    to switch msg.payload to global.number(payload)

but it will come error also

1. how can i handle big/large integer number if its a long value?
    thanks

Jeff

Hi @apex

it's quite hard to say what is happening without more details. What error are you actually hitting? Can you pass your message to a Debug node so we can see exactly what you are working with?

Do you mean you want to set msg.payload to the value of a global context value? If so, you should use the Change node to do that, not the Switch node. I'm also not sure what you intend with global.number(payload). Again, without information on what actual error you are getting it is hard to know what you are doing.

How big is big? In JavaScript, the largest number you can represent is 9007199254740991. Otherwise you have to use the BigInt type - BigInt - JavaScript | MDN

hi thanks for reply.
I m using mobile so i only can elaborate with words
i am using an webapi so i am getting the data and plot it into chart .
And one of the stream "datapoint" from the Api is the "total Api call" .
and i wanna make use of it for some function like
for loop
and so what i have tryed is
var number = msg.payload.datapoint.count
what i try is stored the number of api call to an integer variable "number"
and so i can make use of it like
(for i=0, i<number , i++)
{ do sth for array[i]}
thanks