Is Node-Red feasible for ETL

Hi All. I'm a Node-RED noob. Trying to figure out if Node-RED is a feasible option to import multiple csv files, perform some transforms ie. merges, joins, field level changes and mappings across staging tables. Usual ETL stuff. I've read the documentation, tried to find relevant plugins and looked at different posts etc and not yet found an answer. Is anyone here actually using the platform for this sort of thing? I cant even figure out how to say perform a join across two tables to merge together. Any pointers would be appreciated!

What do you mean with ETL ?
What did you try ?
What part couldnt you find ?

There is a CSV node that can read csv files and parse them in to arrays/json objects.

Did you go through the documentation and the youtube playlist to get grasp the basics ?

It kind-of is. But it isn't as good as Python for ETL I'm afraid. Not really the fault of Node-RED itself but more a reflection of the libraries available to Python vs those available for JavaScript/Node.js.

I've long wished it were better but every time I look, I hit the same limitations. Meaning that, for me, I mostly end up falling back to Excel with PowerQuery since my Python foo isn't too strong in the data science area. :frowning:

Having said that, it rather depends what you are trying to do. Node-RED is quite good at some of the Extract and Load parts, not quite so good in the transformation. But if you can live with tools such as alasql, you can get a fair bit done with CSV. Otherwise, you probably need your data already in a DB engine wvwn if only SQLite.

Oh, and even PowerShell is better at CSV work than JavaScript!