Join Node As Function Node

Is it possible to create a function node that combines two payloads while still having the functionallity?

Welcome to the forum @ivexy24

Can you explain in more detail what you mean and why you don't want to use the Join node?

Im working on some project and i would like to make a custom function that combines join node and another function in 1 function

Why do you want to do that? It is certainly possible using the node context but is surprisingly tricky so I would not recommend that as a starter for a beginner. But if you really want to do it then have a look at the Storing Data section in the node red docs page Writing Functions, which presumably you have already read if you are contemplating such a task.
Really though, stand on the shoulders of those who have come before and use the Join node.

2 Likes

I get that. My boss gave me an assingment to try and implement that. Im quite new to node red so i dont know how should i do it.I'll check the storing data again and hopefully i manage to complete the task.
Thanks for the answer.

The first thing to do is to define exactly what you want the function to do. The Join node has many options and the more of those you need to support the more complex it becomes.

Let me try to be as clear as possible. I want to have 1 custom node that has functionallity of a join node and simple function node. So that when i join them i can access the joined payloads in the custom node and after it write the function.If u understand what i mean great but i think u wont.Im coding for 5 months so i dont know how to properly explain what i want to do:D

use msg.topic as a property key name and context to store the incoming payload values.

var key = msg.topic;
if(!key) key = "__nokey__";

var joined = context.get("joined") || {}; //get the memory object || or create new empty object {}
joined[key] =  msg.payload; //store the payload in the joined object under the key