JSONata: Using the result of an Object Function to reference a Message Property in a Change Node

Hello all,

I'm new to Node-RED and have been struggling with using JSONata to set nested object properties with the Change Node.

I have the following scenario where I need to access a particular property's value in a nested object, but where I don't know the name one of the parent properties.

I can get the property name using $keys(object) however I then need to use the output of this as part of the dot notation to access the required property. A possible added complication is a hyphen in the unknown property name.

Despite some extensive research I just can't work out the correct syntax to achieve this.

Example object (where the property name "device-0001" is unknown in advance):

{
    "device-0001": {
        "name1": "value 1",
        "name2": "value 2"
    }
}

I can get the unknown property name with $keys(object)

$keys($.payload)[0]

which returns "device-0001"

However, if I use this as part of the dot notation

$.payload.$keys($.payload)[0].name1

then I get undefined returned.

Although I do have two work arounds

1. Save the object to the flow context first
$flowContext("devices." & $keys($flowContext("devices"))[0] & ".name1")
  1. Use a function node and JS
msg.payload = msg.payload[Object.keys(msg.payload)[0]].name1;
return msg;

I don't want to have to change several existing change nodes to functions nodes if possible and would prefer not to use the flow context. I also feel it should just be matter of using the correct syntax.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Regards

Simon

(Node-RED: v3.0.2)
(Node.js: v18.2.1)

Welcome.

Is the input a single object or an array of objects ? Are you interested in the 'unknown device' ? or do you only want the name1 property ?

In jsonata you can use payload.*.name1

It will easier to get help if you can provide the input payload and the expected output.

1 Like

Does this work?

[
    {