Linux Node-Red File Permissions

Hi Guys,

I am relatively new to Linux and Node Red and have been trying to find a guide on configuring the Linux (Debian 9) file system for use with Node-Red. I am trying to secure the Node-Red system using the Node-Red-Admin tools as per the user guide using sudo (https://nodered.org/docs/user-guide/node-red-admin), but it is throwing permission denied errors. I suspect I will also run into errors when I install SQLITE and try to create a database.

I am using a single board Linux box (not a Pi) using a named user with sudo priveledges, not root.

Is there a guide anypone kinows of on how the file structure should be setup including permissionins to allow seamless operation of Node-Red without turning off all security?

Cheers.

You will need to share the errors. Running as sudo shouldn't give any permission errors since, by definition, you are taking on the persona of "root". It isn't impossible for root to be denied access but it implies a fairly messed up installation if you do.

The only things you should install with sudo in regard to Node-RED is anything that you really need to install globally. For example, if using npm install -g .... That should only be Node-RED itself and node-red-admin.

A good way to see the best configuration for a "standard" install is to look at Dave's script for the Pi. In fact, as you are using Debian, there is a very good chance that his script will work for you anyway. Though it would install some Pi specific nodes that you don't really need. It also assumes that you are using the user pi as well I think, you could always just temporarily create the pi user I guess.

Other than the two global installs, you should install everything else as the user you want to run Node-RED. If using systemd to run on boot, you will also need to specify the user in the start script.