Make script for car control

Hello everyone! I'm using Epoc+ headset to control the movement of a robot car. The brain signals will be collected by the headset and send to EmotiBCI application. I trained different mental commands there and I pass the data of the mental commands to Node-RED toolbox. So my question is, is anyone knows how to make a script for the car control using the data that passed to the Node-RED toolbox? Or can anyone suggest other method or software that can provide the same function? I'm a newbie in this area. Thanks in advance.

Interesting project!

A couple of quick thoughts:

• Firstly, "latency". There will be quite a lag between your brain, the interpreted signal, and the vehicle. Something to keep in mind. I believe that you can get away with about 80 ms before this becomes an issue.
  • Secondly, we would need to know how the car is controlled? Is it a custom robot where you have control over the firmware?
1 Like

Hi! Thanks for reply me.

I will made a http server on a WiFi module (ESP-12E) which will connected to the Arduino robor car. With using javascript, I'll take the script of the mental command and the signal will be send to the Arduino robot car through the WiFi to control the movement.

OK, so in that case, yes you could use Node-RED as an intermediary to help. Though without knowing some details about the brain controller, it is hard to say just how much help it will be.

For example, NR is great at prototyping process flows. But if your controller outputs data that is easily and relatively directly consumable, then it may be just as easy - and likely have lower latency - to send it direct.

In truth, using HTTP for the control protocol with the ESP is not very efficient either. Off the top of my head, I'm not sure how easy it is to implement a websockets interface but that would likely be more efficient.

Head controller -> xfer to processor -> process control data -> xfer to ESP -> control relays