MQTT counting number of messages

A beginner here.

I've read through forums and the web but only able to understand persistence of MQTT at broker level, but what about persistence at device level?
How does MQTT deal with that? Do I need to build it myself?

Context - I need to count the number and frequency of people passing through a door. Every time someone passes through the device, it sends a message to a server and stores in a database.
But what if there is no connection between the server and device?
How can I store all the messages at device level till it is sent to the server.
The problem here is not just sending the updated payload but also the time and counting the number of messages.

I am assuming (correct me if I am wrong) that you are running node-red on one machine (machine A for example) and the MQTT broker and database are on machine B, and you are worried about what happens if A cannot access B for some reason.
I have solved such problems by not writing directly to the broker but writing initially to a local data store. I used an sqlite database but with persistent context now available in node red that that might be a simpler solution. One could have an array in persistent context and every time a new record becomes available then push the new item to the array. Then have a separate flow that watches the persistent array and if there is anything in it, and there is good access to machine B, then it sends the data across to machine B, and once it knows it has gone then it removes that record from the array. Thus in normal operation and record will get added to the array, then immediately gets picked up, sent to B and removed from the array. If there is no connection then records build up in the array and then when the connection is restored the records are sent across.

I was thinking along the lines of Colin, but he was faster in typing the answer.