MQTT SSL/TLS connection

Hi All
I'm trying to configure an MQTT in to use SSL/TLS security.

I have created
ca, client, and server crt files
ca, client, and server key files.

We are using a Mosqitto MQTT broker, in which I have changed the conf file to use the above files, and restarted it (service mode)

In the Node Red MQTT in I have configured the tls-config to use
client.crt, client.key, and ca.crt files, and given the passphrase that was provided when creating the files. Port is set to 8883

The node transitions from not connected (red circle) to connecting (yellow circle), but doesn't connect.

Without TLS, we connect instantly.

I've either configured something wrong, or I've missed something.
I'm new to TLS...

Any ideas from the info provided?

Hello!

I am looking at this very setup in front of me, I have Node-RED talking to mosquitto and am currently bashing my head against the Paho Java Client!

I'd suggest we break the debugging into two stages:

1. Server (mosquitto)
  2. Client (Node-RED)

Are you able to paste your mosquitto.conf here (removing any private data of course)?

If you're on a unix/linux environment, could you try issuing:
openssl s_client -connect <server>:8883 -prexit
and see what it comes out with, it should print the servers certificate and a negotiated TLS protocol, if that fails you definitely have a config problem in your server.

If you have client auth enabled in mosquitto, then you'll also need to specify the cert to openssl, but I'm going to assume you're using only server-auth for now.

Hi Andreas
Conf file attached as a txt file, couldn't upload a *.conf file
mosquitto.txt (38.2 KB)

I haven't edited that much.
Port for Extra Listeners
cafile, certfile and keyfile in
Certificate based SSL/TLS support
section below Extra Listeners.

I'm on a Win7 PC, but may need to duplicate on a Win 10 PC in the future.

Thanks for your time

Chris

Well the mosquitto.conf looks good, onwards!