MQTT syntax and best practices for the absolute beginner

Is there a general rule of thumb for MQTT message syntax, like how they are constructed? Is MQTT messages strings only or can MQTT handle json too?

From what I can gather it seems like most MQTT messages published are a format something like:

[{"id":"asfd","command":False,"signal":66}]

Is there always an id?

I am a little bit familiar with rest API where JSON in the body of an HTTP GET request could look like this:

{"devices":{
    "boiler_return_temp":{
    "address":"12345:2",
    "object_type":"analogInput",
    "object_instance":"2"
    },
    "cooling_plant_leaving_temp":{
    "address":"12345:3",
    "object_type":"multistateValue",
    "object_instance":"225"
    },
    "air_handler_1_fan_status":{
    "address":"12345:4",
    "object_type":"binaryInput",
    "object_instance":"12"
    },
    "air_handler_2_fan_command":{
    "address":"12345:5",
    "object_type":"binaryOutput",
    "object_instance":"1"
    },
    "heater_water_valve_cmd":{
    "address":"12345:2",
    "object_type":"analogOutput",
    "object_instance":"7"
    }
}}

Could syntax like above also pass for an MQTT published message? Or what would I need to revise to pass for MQTT syntax?

No, MQTT is text only. JSON must be serialised first. The MQTT node will do that for you.

That isn't really needed. You have wrapped the object in an array which is not normally needed.

No. Typically the TOPIC is the id.

You would normally split that into separate topics. However, it depends a lot on how you will want to use the data later.

It is, in fact, really common to have a root topic with the JSON (serialised) and separate topics "beneath" that with individual values. This gives you the greatest flexibility. But you only need to do that if you actually need the different data types. There is no hard and fast rule.

Ah thanks. So no need for the array [] brackets, I have seem to notice that on other peoples work. Thanks for the tips