Msg.filename logging data

Hi There,

I am looking to log some data to a local drive that will have the filename set as the date, thus each new day a new file with data will be added into the directory. I have read that you alter the ‘msg.filename’ in a function node prior to sending it to a file node, which is then left blank, correct?

I am new to javascript and I am struggling setting the ‘filename’ I have got some thing like this in my function node:

msg.filename = msg.filename.C:\Users\admin\node_modules\zData_Logged\Wave Buoy\Date().toString().txt;

I am on a Windows 10 OS.

I hope this is clear.

Thanks in advance

I am new to node red and javascript too,but try this msg.filename = “C:\Users\admin\node_modules\zData_Logged\Wave Buoy\Date().toString().txt”;

Hi Thanos,

I believe this may work, however when I use the directory in the function node it says I cannot write to the directory - in the format you have stated above - but when I put in into the file node in the title - the directory - it will write to my local drive…

Do you know what may be causing this?

Bowen

I believe .toString() method is not working cause it is inside brackets. Try to
var tempString = Date().toString();
var tempString1 = “C:\Users\admin\node_modules\zData_Logged\Wave Buoy";
var tempString2 = tempString.concat(tempString1);
var finalPath = tempString2.concat(".txt");
msg.filename=finalPath;
I am not sure if that helps i dont have a clear view of the whole problem. Its maybe because of the \ try to use / inside your function. You can always use debug node and see the output of the function,

To use Windows pathnames in a string you need to escape the \ character. So for example,

var tempString1 = “C:\Users\admin\node_modules\zData_Logged\Wave Buoy";

should be

var tempString1 = “C:\\Users\\admin\\node_modules\\zData_Logged\\Wave Buoy";

Or, use / instead:

var tempString1 = “C:/Users/admin/node_modules/zData_Logged/Wave Buoy";

Two other comments: