Msg.status.text (object) to csv (via payload?)

Dear

I am a beginner as far as Node-Red is concerned.
Currently I have a msg.object, from which I would like to get the text (msg.status.text).

The photo shows the text as "offline" in this case. The text is variable. I have not yet been able to write a working function.

I want to display this text as a payload value (msg.payload.melding) to be written to a csv file afterwards.
Or are there better methods to make this happen?

Info: flow of the status messages to csv.

Thank you very much for your time and help.

Hi Arne, welcome to the forum!

The first ting I would suggest is you read the documentation on working with messages and watch the video: https://nodered.org/docs/user-guide/messages
and you can look at the cookbook for an example. Once you do that if you still have a question, I (or someone else) will be glad to help.

1 Like

Thank you for your fast reply @zenofmud.

I think I need to use the "change-node"?

I can add a payload, but I can't link it with the variable.

Earlier I used a function to associate the time with a particular message. But I still can't link a variable

Did you realise that the change node you have shown to overwrite the current value in msg.status.txt to the value in msg.payload.melding? It sets msg.status.txt. I wonder whether you wanted those the other way round. I tend to use Move rather than Set as Set can be confusing. So perhaps you want Move msg.status.text To msg.payload.melding.
If that doesn't work use a Debug node set to Show Complete Message to show us what is going into the Change node, another showing what is coming out. Give them names so they are identifiable in the debug, and post a screenshot of the debug output here.