MSSQL node-red installation problem

Hello, just wanna ask; is the node-red-contrib-mssql still usable? I saw that its last update was more than 3 years ago, and it fails when I tried installing it. Or maybe there's another problem that keeps me from installing the node? I'm quite new to Node-RED, it will make me happy if someone could help. Thanks

I tried recently to load this module, and short of breaking open the original source of module and tracking down what is wrong, not likely.

This node uses the query operation against the configured database. This does allow both INSERTS and DELETES. By its very nature it allows SQL injection.

Although the newer option, node-red-node-mysql, comments on only insert and update queries, you can craft any SQL statement you want, so I use it for select queries as well. It is current, last update a few months ago, if memory serves.

mssql != mysql

Oh, nuts... I did miss read that. Yeah, MS-SQL has some differences in SQL syntax and how it replies to queries. I supported both for years... every time MS would deviate, would drive the developers nuts.

There are a number of issues with node-red-contrib-mssql use node-red-contrib-mssql-plus instead - most of the bugs have been weeded out and there are tonnes of improvements.

Improvements include...

• Built in help and examples
  • Updated dependencies
  • Perform multiple queries in one go & get back multiple recordsets (depends on the queries sent)
  • Supports stored procedures
  • Use env vars in the config node for all fields (including credentials). e.g...
    • Server {{{SQL_IP}}}
    • Password {{{SQL_PW}}}
  • Use mustache in your SQL queries including msg, flow and global context. e.g...
    • SELECT TOP {{{payload.maxRows}}} * FROM [MyTable] WHERE Name = '{{{flow.name}}}' AND quantity <= {{{global.maxQty}}}
    • View the final query (mustache rendered into values) in msg.query to understanding what happened to your {{{mustache}}} parameters