Multi zone air conditioning control system

Background:

I have a large ducted reverse cycle unit, which is getting old, but I have managed to keep it going by replacing contactors and fan motors as required. I should note that I am a licenced electrician, so I can do things myself that the normal home owner would have to get someone else to do. I am also comfortable writing Javascript and to a lesser extent bash.

History:

My thermostat went a couple of years back. Originally I used a couple of Arduinos connected by radio link to control the AC. One to sense the temperature, and one to control the AC unit. This worked OK, but I wanted to expand the temperature sensing to all rooms, so they could be automatically controlled. I made a prototype battery powered arduino based unit, but then various factors made me change tack:

1. Similar WiFi and Bluetooth units are now available off the shelf
  2. Aesthetic packaging of custom arduino projects is a problem
  3. This solution is difficult to maintain and upgrade, e.g.

a. What happens if I succumb to Covid-19?
b. If I want to change the code, I need to reflash the arduino and it is difficult to debug

My desired outcomes were:

1. Have something that was easy to maintain and upgrade
  2. Use off the shelf hardware as much as possible (for reasons for requirement 1).
  3. Aesthetic packaging of long lasting battery operated sensors in each room, which then meant that each room could be separately controlled.

Solution:

Given all this I decided to follow an IoT methodology

1. Initially I tried using Hassio, but that proved to be quite a hassle. There seems to be a number of ways to implement this, and when trying to sort things out I couldn’t sort out which system the websites I ended up visiting were talking about, and ended up in a mess.