Need help with a simple function

Hi,
as a nodered /json noob i need some assistance from the crowd.

i used the ping node to check if my devices are on or offline. the node sends ping results or if ping failes, a false result.
now i want to rewrite the msg.payload to Online or Offline. For that i write a function but i still got the ping times on the output. so something goes wrong here. can someone explain me ho to correct the code?

if(msg.payload!==false){
    msg.payload==="Online"
}
else
{
    msg.payload==="Offline"
}
return msg

Hi @rednode,

The == and === operators are used to test the value. To assign a value, you use =:

msg.payload = "Online"

By the way, when sharing code on the forum please try to format it properly. The easiest way to do it is to add three back-tick characters - ``` - on a new line before and after your code block.

thanks for your help.
so ive changed my code to this

if(msg.payload!=="false"){
    msg.payload="Online"
}
else
{
    msg.payload="Offline"
}
return msg;

but now, there icomes no data on the output site
same with

if(msg.payload!==false){

OK lets step back a step.

I assume you have a debug node attached to the output?
is false written in blue? Then its a boolean and you would need msg.payload!==false
or "false"? Then it is a string and you would need msg.payload!=="false"

Its worth understanding javascript variable types as they are fundamental in Node-RED