Need help with State nodes. Trying to get the state of a Shelly 1 detached switch as trigger for a flow

HA/Node Red noob here. Been watching lots of videos about the flows and inject, debug nodes etc. Been spinning my wheels on the details of triggering on a Shelly device.

I've played with the various State nodes to read the on/off status of the Shelly 1 detached switch for a garage door open/closed status to trigger and email and a Sonos announcement. At one point I was getting 'on' and 'off' in the payload trying to run a Switch and Change Node to so I could just get a Garage door 1 open or closed email. I seem to be getting from/to state changes and two emails on each door status change.

Hoping someone can tell me what state node to use and what basic nodes I can use to send to the email node to report the status of the door.

After that I'm hoping to get ideas on the best way to send the announcements to Sonos.

Much appreciated.

Thanks.

Normally you use the Shellie’s with a MQTT-Broker like mosquitto and then you can use the mqtt-in and out nodes, to trigger a flow or sending commands.

1 Like

Thanks for this. Now i just need to figure out what that means. Still learning.

Last night i found in the HA integrations view that my garage door Shelly 1 had 8 more entities that were hidden. I enabled the input one and created a state node for it and it is passing an on or off to the debug node and to the body of the email. I used a change node to convert that to open/closed. Is this close to what you described?

Now I just need to figure out how to put Garage Door 1 Open or Closed in the subject of the email. Also need to figure out how to announce on Sonos with TTS or even a .wav file. Should I create separate threads for those?

Thanks again for the time you put into this.

I am not sure , if we mean the same. My problem is that I dont know HA and do not know, if HA has an integrated MQTT broker.