No info under sub flow nodes

Hi,
I'm rather new to node red having installed it for home assistant. I managed to get it working, the more I added the more monstrous my flow became so I decided to split it into subflows, which works great, but the nodes in the subflow don't show when / if they have been activated which makes debugging impossible. Is there an option to show the text under node inside the subflow same as it would show if the node was activated in the main flow window?

Hope that makes sense.

do you mean the status under a node - like this...

if so, then you need to consider what is happening.

A subflow is a essentially a "class" & when you use a subflow, you create an "instance"

In other words, the subflow cant show you status internally as it wont know which one you are looking at.

In PLC terms, its like a function block, you create multiple instances & each have their own life & own values (so to speak)

In cooking terms, a subflow is a "recipe" and you make "meals" from the recipe.

There is an art to know when to use them and what to put into a subflow. My recommendation is, keep your subflow design atomic (do one task & do it well) (PS, by "do one task" I dont mean have one node inside the subflow - you can have lots of nodes that calculate a complex number for example).

Sticking to that maxim has many side benefits I wont go into. but one of the benefits is as it only has one well defined function, you can actually set a status for the subflow ...

and it will appear on the main flow under subflow node instance.

Hope that rambling makes sense?

It does make sense sort off though I guess for my newbie use the subflows are not the right thing. I get node red can do all kinds of magic with what passes through the nodes, but I honestly just want to use it as a "dumb" flow diagram thingy.