Node for reading data of BME680 Sensor

Hello,
I am totally new in raspberry pi programming and I started with a node-red project for measure temperature and humidity (Temperature 3 - 20 °C, humidity 80-100%).
The measurement is going to be in a refigerator with high humidty so I wan't as less components as possible in there.
I did find a node for the DHT11 (22) sensor and this is already working.
Since I want to check if the BME680 sensor is more fitting for my project I want to connect both and compare the results in a database.
I am looking now for the easiest way to get temperature and humidity reading from the BME680.
Can anybody help me to archive this?

Regards Markus

Hey, you can check this topic from while ago.
Best solution would be to use an external module like a d1 mini for example and connect it to bme680. Values can be send via mqtt to you Rpi and nodered.
I think the easiest way would be to use d1 mini, BME and EspEasy on the module

Hey thanks for the fast response.
I already read this topic, but i was actually searching for a simple solution without using more parts then the pi and the sensor.
Since there is a way to read the data with a python script (at least I read something like this) I thought it might be possible to get a simple solution without installing more parts (measurement will be at high humidity and i don't want to build in more parts like i really need).

I really think its better to sacrifice a few dollar module than the Rpi.
A solution is probably there but its not easy as you might expect.
And when you discover mqtt everything goes to new level!.
You also didnt tell how would you display the values?

2 Likes

Yeah i am afraid that you are right.
But at least I want to check if anybody knows a different solution.
I already made a dashboard in node red vor the visualisation and i store the data in an influx db. The stored data is shown in graphs via grafana.