Node.py - Python for Node-RED?

I'm new to Node-RED; my personal software preferences tend toward Python, not Java script.
Is there a way to integrate Python into Node-RED for use in function blocks in lieu of Java script?

No. You can call a python script in an exec node, but only do that if the code cannot easily be converted for some reason.

If you are proficient at Python you will not have any great difficulty with js. Just leap in and have a go.

However, a major point about node-red is that it minimises the amount of code that you have to write. Very often what you want to do can be handled by the standard nodes.

I recommend watching this playlist: Node-RED Essentials. The videos are done by the developers of node-red. They're nice & short and to the point. You will understand a whole lot in about 1 hour. A small investment for a lot of gain.

1 Like

node.py is an intriguing idea but hasn't been updated for 2 years which gives you an idea that it probably hasn't really taken off.

You could also use something like python-shell. Indeed, there used to be a contrib node that ran Python code in a similar fashion to the function node but I don't think that's been maintained.

Colin, Thanks for the reply. I'm just following up on old posts that essentially have made the same request given that Python has becomes so ubiquitous in the software industry. In addition my project will be utilizing microPython in various microprocessor platforms; it would be nice to be able to maintain the same code in the microprocessors and in Node-RED. I have seen several approaches for partial integrations of Python, but having it as the native language would be preferable.

Also thanks for the link to Node-RED Essentials, but I've previously reviewed them. I'm currently reviewing videos on utilizing MQTT with Node-RED and the micros running Python.

This is clearly not possible. The two languages produce completely different code that is incompatible.