[off-topic]Paid for MQTT Broker

I've decided that securing my own cloud MQTT broker is not worth the struggle/too difficult for me so looking to put the money towards using a commercial one instead and wondering if anyone uses one themselves?

Ideally, looking for something that lets me have totally private topics but ideally public read only ones as well
[edit]I mean ones I can read-write to :slight_smile: and others can read only from :slight_smile: [/edit]

I don't know if this meets all your requirements but here's what I do. I run NR and a Mosquitto broker on my internal net(s) and block them from reaching the Internet. I also setup OpenVPN so I can get a virtual presence "inside" my system from anywhere.

HTH

1 Like

Well, I'm not really an expert but the times I've looked at such things, the cost of a cloud service that would serve MQTT securely was a lot more than, lets say, running your own VPS.

I think that both Azure and AWS have MQTT compatible services Microsoft will give you some free developer services on Azure, I think that AWS is only free for 1yr. I know that IBM cloud also has MQTT but I don't know whether the free tier includes secure MQTT. I expect that Oracle cloud has something as well. Not sure about other options.

1 Like

I am a stickler about keeping everything local. :wink: Cloud is just a word for someone else's computer.

Setting up the Mosquitto broker was very easy. The VPN was tricky for me because my head gets into a tornado whenever crypto is mentioned. But it was a good exercise in turning the tornado into just a gustnado so that was good in the end.

Good luck

@cymplecy
Maybe one of these:

CloudMQTT: a Swedish based company providing such services
https://www.cloudmqtt.com/

Beebotte: a US company basically doing the same
https://beebotte.com/home

3 Likes

Ah, I was trying to remember the name of Beebotte, I even have an account with them. Created in 2015.