Offline by default + Sync server

Hello,
I am just getting started with Uibuilder, here is a question though.

As far as I know, Uibuider acts as a server establishing websocket connections to concurrent clients, serving them resources by responding to triggers through Noder Red logic or triggers sent by the client’s browser via forms.

All right until you have bad 5g coverage or bad wifi signal.. in which case websoket brokes and you can not enjoy a fluid browsing experience.

I wonder if is possible to use Uibuilder and Node Red to build a Sync server.
Every client does make use of its browser’s persistent storage (same as Bitwarden storage) and whenever changes are made it syncs them to the Node Red Sync server, wich broadcasts the updates to all other clients.

The result of this combo will be instant loading times for your data website not matter if offline or with unstable connectivity.

I know is an edge usecase and probably not what Uibuilder is intended to resolve, any insights are much appreciated.

I'd already started thinking about this but the capabilities in UIBUILDER for that are fairly basic right now.

UIBUILDER does have functions for using localStorage in the browser so perfectly possible to cache data in the browser. But currently it means that you would need most of your logic in the front-end I suspect.

Lots of ideas in my head about extending this but nothing concrete right now.

So you would need to do some of your own front-end code for now.

Thinking longer term, the client library should be able to cache things locally and deal with a disconnected network. This probably needs some webworker capability as well as local storage. Of course, localStorage is limited by browser settings which is outside of our control so page and data cache sizes would, of necessity, also be limited.

1 Like