Opinions on UI design

Although I am quite new to node-red I now have a couple of working flows I use not daily but often. They require some interaction so I have done a dashboard with the controls on them. There is little control on placement of the controls (I think, but there may be something I've missed) and when I view the dashboard on different computers the controls shift positions seemingly random. I have looked at HTML but the node-red code has proven challenging enough and what little web site design I've done is laughable and often appropriately derided as I have no composition skills or color co-ordination. My question is what do most people do for their projects? Do you use the dashboard or HTML? If you use HTML is there some trick to getting the controls over into it. I have looked at some demo's but they do not use any gauges or controls with any complexity to them. Is there a trick to anchoring and designing the dashboard I'm missing or is there some type of controls library for HTML?
Thanks

Which dashboard are you referring to ? Do you mean node-red-dashboard ?

You should have full control over the placement, especially with the layout editor.

Personally, I tend to use custom html with uibuilder for my projects because I inevitable end up frustrated by getting the look and feel just right with Dashboard (my OCD). Of course, I'm also biased and need to "eat my own dogfood" since I'm the author of uibuilder. This is much more of a commentary on me than it is on Dashboard.

However, I do use Dashboard for quick tests since it means no need to mess around. And some of those "tests" are still around after more than a year :slight_smile:

So I'm afraid that the "answer" is - it depends!

• How comfortable you are writing HTML
  • Whether you find the restrictions of Dashboard (and Angular v1) too intrusive
  • Whether you are constantly making tweaks and changes