Pick just one value from a MQTT message

Probaly simple for others but I got stuck.
I have som esp8266 with tasmota 7.1 and lux meter.
I want just the value to be sent to dashboard and MYSQL.
The message looks like this:
{"Time":"2019-12-10T15:30:16","TSL2561":{"Illuminance":56.190}}

How can I get Node-Red just to send the Illuminance value to next node thats a Dashboard or "insert into mysql" node?

Hi @Quart666

This page in the docs should give you some tips on how to work with messages, understand their structure and access the different parts of it: https://nodered.org/docs/user-guide/messages

I have read that page but still dont get it :frowning:
I now do this but still miss the target

@Quart666 so the property you are interested in is msg.payload.TSL2561.Illuminance

You could add a Change node to set msg.payload to the value of msg.payload.TSL2561.Illuminance. Most Dashboard nodes will use msg.payload by default.

1 Like

Humm
I am a newbie.
Is this right?

[{"id":"8dbf67eb.fd5df8","type":"mqtt in","z":"76eae6e0.698b98","name":"","topic":"tele/tasmotatest/SENSOR","qos":"2","datatype":"json","broker":"fbf559eb.beb7d8","x":150,"y":1980,"wires":[["d54d210c.d2c2e"]]},{"id":"729bf046.a8b45","type":"debug","z":"76eae6e0.698b98","name":"","active":true,"tosidebar":true,"console":false,"tostatus":false,"complete":"false","x":950,"y":1980,"wires":[]},{"id":"d54d210c.d2c2e","type":"change","z":"76eae6e0.698b98","name":"","rules":[{"t":"set","p":"payload.TSL2561.Illuminance","pt":"msg","to":"","tot":"num"}],"action":"","property":"","from":"","to":"","reg":false,"x":530,"y":1980,"wires":[["729bf046.a8b45"]]},{"id":"fbf559eb.beb7d8","type":"mqtt-broker","z":"","name":"Mosquitto MQTT Server","broker":"192.168.1.12","port":"1883","clientid":"node-red","usetls":false,"compatmode":true,"keepalive":"60","cleansession":true,"birthTopic":"","birthQos":"0","birthPayload":"","closeTopic":"","closeQos":"0","closePayload":"","willTopic":"","willQos":"0","willPayload":""}]