PID Controller for Cooling - Looking for Help

Hi. I am trying to control a fan depending on the temperature I read from DS18B20. This is the PID node that I am using:

I am new to Node-Red, and I don't know about PID controllers. I read the example provided by the author of this node, but I couldn't get it working. It says "Integral Locked". The author also tells what that means, but I don't know how to fix it.

Also, author mentions about something like "for cooling, change the range from 1:0 to 0:1". I don't understand what to do about this part.

Can someone please guide me? Using Discord is better than forum questions for me, if that is okay for you too. Also, if you think that I gave too little explanation, please ask me questions about it. I am new, I don't really know what matters, or not.

Hi @oncdastan, welcome to the forum.

The PID node outputs a value in the range 0 to 1, 0 means output fully off, 1 means fully on. For cooling you need to invert that, do that with a Range node set to scale input range 0 to 1 to the output range 1 to 0.

For tuning the loop did you see the blog post linked from the node's help?
http://blog.clanlaw.org.uk/pid-loop-tuning.html

1 Like

I created the node in the way you (and the guide) told me to. Should I put the range node before PID node, or after?

I checked that post, tried similar values. I got "Integral Locked".

Can I talk to you on Discord, if that is okay for you?

@oncdastan If the PID node outputs a range of 0 -> 1 and you want it to be inverted to a range of 1 -> 0, then you would put the Range node after the PID node.

Just to avoid confusion, you mean Slack, not Discord.