PID controlling in general and a specific case

I hope this is the right category. This isnt entirely Node-RED specific but I cant think of any other forum with as many smart people.

I'm new to PID control and would like to spar about a conondrum.

I have particularly pesky and slow floor heating in our ground floor which consume a lot of the heat in our heating circuit when open 100%. And when it's been at 0% for a while it takes forever (36+ hours) to heat up again. I therefore would ideally like to keep it at between 5% and max 40%.

It's controlled by an electric valve which I can send PID parameters to, but cannot limit at a maximum opening.

Is there a way through setting the Xp, Tn and Tv parameters I can get it into a slow loop which never will hit bottom (0%) or the top (100%) ? As far as I can understand, through reading some articles about PID control and testing a bit, this behaviour could only be created by manipulating setpoints over time (?).

If you search the forum there are many posts about PID control. @Colin is the PID guru here, there is a link to a blog post of his explaining it in great detail somewhere too.

http://blog.clanlaw.org.uk/2018/01/09/PID-tuning-with-node-red-contrib-pid.html

Are you running the PID in node-red? If so which node are you using (node-red-something)?
[Edit] Also how are you then driving the valve?

Incidentally, that’s one of the good articles I referred to.:blush:

Sadly not using the node which would be easier to tune perhaps. I’m actually manipulating the Xp, Tn and Tv, and setpoints, from NR via KNX-RF to a system of radiator valve actuators and sensors.

If the valves are doing the PID control then whether you can limit the output range must be down to whether that feature is supported int the valve. There may be ways round it though.
Can you read the current percentage output back from the valve?
Do you measure the current temperature. I presume you do.