Python equivalent of flow.set() and flow.get()

Hi. I'm new to Node Red. Sorry, I'm using Python... I want to be able to share variables between nodes and all I can find is how to get data from sys.argv (so sent as a trigger from another node). My triggers to various nodes will contain data specific to objects I want to status or control and I can pass that using sys.argv but I want to access other variables that could be common to all nodes in the flow (e.g. API access token). In some nodeJS examples I found flow.set() and flow.get() methods but I could not find any Python equivalent. I really don't want to have to store these in a bunch of text files....

Welcome to the forum @Ouagadougou.

No need to apologise for using python.
But how are you planning to use it with Node-red?

The most obvious way is to call your python script[s] via the Exec node of Node-red.
That does allow you to pass values to the script as command line parameters.
For static data like API keys you might consider Environment variables.

I think you may have some Node-red terminology confused, and as a newcomer to Node-red you might find these introductory videos useful: Node-RED Essentials. The videos are made by the developers of node-red.

Note that Node-red is built upon passing a collection of related data as a complete "message". Although context variables are available, it might be a mistake to leap straight to using them rather than message properties.

Thanks for the quick reply and for the introductory videos. I thought I could use a change node to give me access to the variables I needed and tried to add this and another trigger to a node block but I could see variables were only passed by the triggering node. I will have a look through the videos and take you up on your suggestion to use environment variables.