Store data in flow variable to be used in another node (in Python3 function)

Hello everyone.

I am trying to save the name of a file into a variable so that I can call it in another function node later. I have read that there is a flow variable that is available in the flow scope, which is what I need. I have been trying to test the examples in the Node-RED Documentation but I can't get them to work ( I am not a programmer, so I just test until it works). The other problem is that I have been using Python3 Function nodes so I would like to continue this way for the sake of simplicity.

Can anyone tell me how to just save the name of my file "10:23.txt" into a variable and how I can call it in a Python3 function later?
The point is that I am creating a file called "test.txt". The payload will be saved in this file and name of this file is gonna be replaced with a time stamp every 5 seconds. Then the file with the time stamp name will be uploaded to the cloud. The goal is to keep deleting the files as soon as they get uploaded to the cloud. That's why I need to pass their name, so that after it gets uploaded I can delete for example the "10:23.txt"

I would recommend you look into the use of a database instead of writing/deleting files.

I am uploading it to the cloud database so that is not the point. I just want to know how to save "10:23.txt" into a flow context variable. Thanks.

Using a : in a filename is bad practice.
To store flow context:

flow.set("filename","1023.txt");
To get:
filename = flow.get("filename");

Not sure how a python node works, but I can imagine that you can use the context vars from node-red.

Thank you in advance. I tried this and I get this error in the function node where I tried to save the name of the file:

File "<string>", line 69, in python_function
NameError: global name 'flow' is not defined