Question Regarding uibuilder

I have been practicing programming uibuilder with vue & bootstrapVue. I have worked up a database manipulation program following an excellent tutorial and I can get data through the network with a vue method using async and fetch().

However, what I actually want to do is get the data from Node-red. I have achieved this by sending a msg to Node-red with uibuilder.send and updating vue data properties when the return msg is identified by uibuilder.onChange in the mounted section of the vue app.

The question is; is there any other way of getting a msg object into the vue app other than through the onChange event in mounted? I have looked at the exposed methods and apart from uibuilder.send have not been able to get anything out of them when used in the vue methods or watch sections.

I would point out that I am pretty new at Javascript & vue so I am probably missing something that is obvious. If so, if someone would point me in the direction of an explanation I would be most grateful.

Urm, what else would you want?

This exactly mirrors what happens in a Node-RED node and that is deliberate so that the processing is very familiar.

I am looking at some additional helper methods that would let you directly update a Vue data variable given a specific incoming msg.topic or via some pre-defined data schema in the send msg. However, I haven't yet managed to get the code stable and I needed to get v3 live so I pulled it from v3.0.0.

All that will do however is make it easier to directly update a Vue variable based on crafting a specifically formatted msg from Node-RED. It slightly simplifies your front-end code but will not offer anything you cannot already do using a simple onchange function (that also has the advantage that it isn't Vue specific and so can be used with other frameworks, one of the key design principles of uibuilder).