RED in UI nodes

Hi folks,

I needed to get a nested property from an input message, so I wrote following snippet

$scope.$watch('msg', function(msg) {
   var someNestedPropertyValue = RED.util.getMessageProperty(....);
}

However I get "ReferenceError: RED is not defined", and then I realized I have never used before this kind of stuff in a UI node (or Template node) ...

So the question is, how to continue with this:

1. I write my own getMessageProperty function (based on the one from Node-RED), so anybody can find it here in this discussion.
  2. Something should be added to the core of the dashboard (to support some kind of lightweight RED API), so all node developers can use it (at least if that dashboard version is installed).
  3. It does already exist, but I cannot find it?
  4. Other ideas ...

Thanks !!
Bart

This is browser side right ? I think the msg that arrives there via the websocket is not the same as the one arriving at the node. You would need to do any getMessageProperty type work before sending to the browser.

Yes Dave, that is in the AngularJs frontend side.

Indeed I can use RED at the server side, before sending the message to the client:

beforeEmit: function(msg, value) {   
   // Get the the value of a nested property from the input message
   var someNestedPropertyValue = RED.util.getMessageProperty(msg, "some.nested.property");
}

But I don't need the nested property value on the server side, I need it at the client side.
With that setup, I need to get all the nested properties on the server side and convert them to non-nested properties:

beforeEmit: function(msg, value) {   
   // Convert the nested property to a non-nested property.
   msg.someNonNestedProperty = RED.util.getMessageProperty(msg, "some.nested.property");

// To avoid confusion, remove the nested property from the input message
}

Then indeed I can use the msg.someNonNestedProperty on the client side without having to traverse through the nested properties...