Running NodeRed on Windows or on Docker: some functionality questions

Hello,

I'm new to NodeRed and am looking at it as a replacement for EventGhost. I first will need to decide if I will run NodeRed on Docker or directly on my Windows host. I would prefer the former, but am aware that some of my desired functionality may become much more complicated if not impossible. Hence my question...

I use EventGhost on my PC as a bridge between my home-automation (Loxone) and my PC (used as htpc, Logitech Squeezebox Server and controller of directly connected rs232 devices). As such, I would like to have the following functionality:

1. send/receive TCP or UDP commands and react accordingly
  2. communicate with other network appliances (TV, washer, ...)
  3. receive and decode XAP packets (a UDP-based protocol, for communication with the Logitech server)
  4. bidirectional control of rs232 devices (for now: an amplifier and an arduino)
  5. launch programs on Windows
  6. emulate keypresses on Windows

Regarding possibilities, I guess everything would be directly possible if NodeRed would run directly on Window (of course: protocols have to be known, but I mean it would mainly be a documentation/knowledge issue rather than a technical one)... I this the case?

Trying to move this to Docker, I figured out the following:

1. TCP/UDP: No problem
  2. Appliances: No problem
  3. XAP: No problem if it receives the UDP (and also, there are flows for the Logitech Server)
  4. RS232: Perhaps possible with hub4com (from com0com suite) running on Windows to communicate with a TCP port which maps to a rs232 port
  5. Launch programs: Here it probably gets tricky.... Can you launch a program on the hosts from Docker? WMI?
  6. Emulate keypresses: I guess this would not be possible from Docker to the host?