Save credentials from runtime

Hello,

I'm completely new to NodeRED development since a few days and I'm facing some difficulties with config and credentials. Probably I still have some problems with understanding the interaction between editor and runtime.

I want to write nodes that interact with a webservice of mine. For this purpose I want to create a kind of generic username in form of a random value (64 digits aplhanumeric) after the installation of the nodes. I want to report this to my webservice and get a pfx as Base64 back that will be used as a client certificate. I would like to save these two values.

I have now reached the point where I think I have understood that the calculation of the username and the registration to the webservice can only be done in the Runtime at the first start of a "normal" node (as a config node has no runtime). I would like to save this in a config node, because these values (mainly the username) are used by several of my nodes.

But I have not succeeded in changing or saving the credentials of a node from the runtime yet. Is this even possible with config/credentials, or do I have to use a different technique? Do I perhaps have to use the httpAdmin function or a own file?

Hope you can help, thanks,
Thorsten

1 Like

Hi Thorsten, welcome to the forum. I think a few people are on holiday which may be why you didn't get a response sooner (I've just returned).

You can indeed store information reasonably securely in Node-RED using credentials from a custom node. In order to do so, you need to have credentials fields defined in your Editor config for the config node (the .html file) and you need to pass them back to the runtime from your node (the .js file). The instructions for doing this are in the docs.

There are several examples of this type of processing in different nodes and it is sometimes easiest to go look at the source code.

You need to:

1. Set up a configuration node