Seeking Node-RED expert for developing a remote update procedure

Hi There!

I have some Node-RED experience myself (3yrs?), but I usually use it as a rapid prototyping tool. For that I love it. However, at scale it's become a headache for me, since I lack a really deep understanding of the runtime and configuration. At the moment, I have a need to be able to reliably sync the development and staging environment with the production environment via a robust remote update procedure that the end user can initiate.

Some more information:
I have a working node-red project deployed at 40+ remote locations for an enterprise application. It is chugging along pretty happily, but I lack a robust, remote-update procedure. I am currently just updating the flows.json file from a git repository, but this doesn't handle some additional requirements for a truly enterprise-grade update workflow:

• End-user initiated updates (right now it's just me manually updating the host machine when needed). This could be a local utility that the end user uses to trigger the update over ssh or HTTP, or something on the existing node-red UI that is part of this project.
  • Bulletproof, complete update, including dependencies, node version, with automated roll-back for the unforeseeable.

The goal is to give the end-user some kind of mechanism to sync the production application to the current stable version of the flow with high reliability and resilience.

I would be happy to connect with any folks who can take on developing the update procedure. We can discuss requirements and details to get a sense of next steps as needed. Thought I would feel out the waters on the forum first.

Thanks!

Hi, there is a project called FlowFuse that was developed for this very purpose (and more). It has a concept named "Devices" which provides a means of remote instance management (from individual deployments to device group deployments and pipeline deployments).