Single Page Application - UI for Manufacturing Application

To start, I am an automation systems architect/engineer and experienced in most of the common programming languages and architectures.

Use Case: Operator is assembling a widget, screwing in 4 bolts with a torque tool. The flow describes the assembly steps of the widget and as each step within the flow is executed the UI reflects the progress and the torque values of each bolt after the completion of torquing of each bolt.

I have a project to create an application where node-red will provide the process definition and execution of an assembly process while a user interface shows the major steps of completion as the flow executes. A number of custom nodes are in the design to enable this type of process execution but it is unclear how to best interface the UI with the node-red runtime. I have read about UIBuilder and have ruled it out for this application (based on limited knowledge on my part) since the SPA sits outside the flow and not constructed from within the flow. The concept is to completely abstract the UI/SPA from the execution of the flow to leave room for other UIs to connect to process and monitor progress through different contexts.

I have looked at communicating with the flow through MQTT. The UI would send command messages to "start assembly" and receive messages to update the step progress in the UI. This seems to be a indirect way to do this but not out of the question.

I am looking to be pointed in the best direction. Thank you.

So first thing. Node-RED is a server tool, not a front-end tool. That means that whichever nodes you use, you will still need a UI presented to a users browser. In this, all of the UI tools for Node-RED are the same whether Dashboard, uibuilder, etc.

uibuilder will be easier if you are building a fully custom UI as it does the comms for you and keeps out of the way unless you need it.