Solar Assistant MQTT - How to use it with Node Red?

Hi, I'm very new to Node Red and on the wrong end of the learning curve. Hoping for some help to understand how to read data from and send instructions via MQTT.

Node-RED Current version: 13.3.2 (running inside Home Assistant).

I have an off-grid Solar PV and battery system which is monitored and partly controlled with Solar Assistant, which resides on a dedicated Raspberry Pi. It enables communication of key system data as well as control of some functions of the inverter and charge controller.

Solar Assistant uses MQTT to interface with Home Assistant, and that works well. This is their help page on setting it up:

I am hoping with the aid of Node Red (rather than Home Assistant) to deign some automations for managing the solar PV/battery system and figured it made sense to read and send instructions via the MQTT directly with Node Red, instead of via HA.

But I know little of how it works. This is what I have so far:

The node shows a green "connected" indicator which I'm taking as a good sign. The node has the following properties/set up:

But that's about it. If I try to trigger the node and send output to a debug mode, I just get an error:

"Error: Invalid action specified"

And that's about as far as I've got.

I'd be grateful for any tips, clues or suggestions to make sense of it.

Thanks

and to add to the above, if I click the edit option in the node editor here are some more details of what I have set up so far:

This is not how MQTT works. It is a publish subscribe protocol. In other words, you simply subscribe to a topic & messages will arrive when a publisher publishes. I.e. you do not ask for messages (with an inject node) you get them when sent by a publisher.

Add an MQTT in node, select the broker, set the topic to #, press done, connect a debug node to the output of the MQTT node, deploy.

Thanks.