(Solved) How to able Node-Red to create files and folders on DietPi

Hi all.
I'm getting this permission error when trying to save data as a file:
failed to create file: Error: EACCES: permission denied, mkdir ...
I solve it by creating myself the directories and the file and given permission for all for the file with the following command:
chmod a=rwx "filename"
That's should help someone with the same problem but I would like to know how can I auto start the service with the root privileges so Red-Node can create the directories and file.
I'm new to linux and couldn't find how to do it on Google.
thanks for any help.

Have you installed using the recommended bash script from [1]?
If so then it will have installed a systemd service which you can enable with
sudo systemctl enable nodered
Then it will autostart on boot.

[1] https://nodered.org/docs/hardware/raspberrypi

Hi, Colin.
Thanks for the fast answer.
No, I have installed it using the optimized software list from DietPi.
When I tried that command I get:
Failed to enable unit: File nodered.service: No such file or directory.
Is there any commands to autostart it with sudo or should I uninstall and install using the recommended bash script you suggest?

That is because you have not run the script, which provides the systemd service file. If you look on the page I linked to it says it is compatible with DietPi so I suggest you run the script.

I ran the bash script and get the following message:
Diet-Pi detected - only going to add the node-red-start, -stop, -log commands.
The node-red still has no permission to create a folder or file.
What can I do?

Does the systemctl enable command now work?

DietPi seems to have its own software installer and its own process controller.

https://dietpi.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=5&p=5393#p5393

I would say that you will need to raise an issue in their forums if their Node-RED installation doesn't work.

1 Like

It does not.