Someone with experience with REDIS subscribing?

Hi,

I have no experience with REDIS yet, but for one of my flows I need to subscribe to a REDIS .

I tried this : https://flows.nodered.org/node/node-red-v4-contrib-redis

And loaded the example flow, but everything I get in debug is :

Error: connect ECONNREFUSED 127.0.0.1:6379

I checked different things including the config node but could not find anything... including maybe a way to set the IP, port, password and so on.

If anyone has some knowledge about that, I'd be happy to lean.

Thanks !

The obvious questions are

• have you installed redis on the same computer
    • is node-red or redis running on the OS or in docker/VM?
  • is redis setup to use port 6379
  • do you have a firewall blocking that port?

Thanks,

my bad, I thought I would not need any additional set-up than the nodes for some kind of local redis PUBLISH / SUBSCRIBE to work.... so I checked for some more information and know understand I have to install a REDIS server as well.

So for my understanding, every devices interested in REDIS messages have to run a REDIS server ?

Or could that work as well, if I specify as a REDIS server the unit from which I have to subscribe to messages ? Guess It has to run a REDIS server as well...

And other question, how to handle the password security, which I know is being used for the REDIS channel I want to subscribe ?

Many thanks !

No.

One redis server is enough.
Client A writes on redis.
Client B reads on redis.
Or vice-versa.

You have to know what "the unit" is doing.

Redis is a key/value pair database.

If you don't know the key(s) it is possible to get them. Nevertheless, on an active redis instance it is like finding a needle in a haystack.

Then, for the password, I have neved used redis on nodered with passwd.

The redis contrib nodes works well, but, the documentation is "challenging" (aka. inexistent)

Thanks a lot for your message.